Questions and Answers

1400. What will he gain who eats Christ’s Flesh and drinks His Blood worthily? (CCC 1406) He who eats Christ’s Flesh and drinks His Blood worthily will gain eternal life.
1401. Why is the Eucharist the heart and the summit of the Church’s life? (CCC 1407) The Eucharist is the heart and the summit of the Church’s life, because in it Christ associates His Church with His redeeming sacrifice on the Cross.
1402. What are the four parts of Holy Mass? (CCC 1408) The four parts of Holy Mass are:
1. the proclamation of the Word of God
2. the thanksgiving to the Father
3. the Consecration of the gifts
4. the reception of Holy Communion.
1403. What does the Holy Eucharist commemorate? (CCC 1409) The Holy Eucharist commemorates Christ’s work of salvation.
1404. Who offers the Eucharistic sacrifice and who is its offering? (CCC 1410) It is Christ (1) who offers the Eucharistic sacrifice and (2) who is its offering.
1405. Who can celebrate the Eucharist? (CCC 1411) Only validly ordained priests can celebrate the Eucharist.
1406. What are the essential signs of the Eucharistic sacrament? (CCC 1412) The essential signs of the Eucharistic sacrament are wheat bread and grape wine.
1407. What does the consecration cause? (CCC 1413) The consecration causes the transubstantiation of the bread and wine into the Body and Blood of Christ.
1408. For which intentions can the Eucharist be offered? (CCC 1414) The Eucharist can be offered in order:
1. to make reparation for the sins of the living and the dead
2. to obtain spiritual or temporal benefits from God.
1409. Under what condition may Christ be received in the Holy Communion? (CCC 1415) Christ may be received in the Holy Communion under the condition that the communicant is in a state of grace.
1410. What are the five essential effects of receiving Holy Communion? (CCC 1416) The five effects of receiving Holy Communion are:
1. an increase of union with Christ
2. forgiveness of venial sins
3. preservation from future mortal sins
4. strengthening of the Church
5. helping the unity of the Church.
1411. How often must the faithful receive Holy Communion? (CCC 1417) The faithful must receive Holy Communion at least once a year.
1412. With what kind of worship is the Sacrament of the Altar honoured? (CCC 1418) The Sacrament of the Altar is honoured with the worship of adoration.
1413. How does the Holy Sacrifice unite us with Christ in heaven? (CCC 1419) The Holy Sacrifice unites us with Christ in heaven by:
1. identifying us with Christ’s Heart
2. sustaining our strength along the pilgrimage of this life
3. making us long for eternal life
4. uniting us even now to the Church in heaven.