Questions and Answers

1191. What are the seven sacraments of the Church? (CCC 1210) The seven sacraments of the Church are: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony.
Penance is usually called “Confession”.
1192. Into which three groups does the CCC divide the seven sacraments? (CCC 1211) The CCC divides the seven sacraments into:
1. three sacraments of Christian initiation: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist
2. two sacraments of healing: Penance, Anointing of the Sick
3. two sacraments at the service of communion: Holy Orders, Matrimony.
1193. Why is the Holy Eucharist the “Sacrament of sacraments”? (CCC 1211) The Holy Eucharist is the “Sacrament of sacraments”, because all the other sacraments are ordered to it as to their end.